Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim also known as Masjid Diraja Teluk Blangah, is a mosque located along 30 Telok Blangah Road in Singapore. Near the mosque is Johor’s Royal Mausoleum and Tanah Kubor Temenggong Johor, a small unkempt cemetery all co-located on site. The grounds of the mosque, mausoleum and cemetery are owned by the Johor state government and under the sovereignty of Malaysia. Also referred to Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim, it used to be part of the palace grounds of Temenggong Abdul Rahman.
The building in this photo is a balairong or ‘audience hall’ which Daeng Ibrahim converted into a mosque sometime in 1871. This building was demolished in 1991 and the building of the current mosque was financed by then Sultan Iskandar al-Haj of Johor.
It is one of two mosques in the country not under purview by Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura but come under management of the Johor Religious Department.HistoryIn 1824, the grounds originally served as a palace of Temenggong Abdul Rahman and his followers. Upon the demise of Temenggong Abdul Rahman in 1862, his son (And the father of HRH Abu Bakar of Johor), Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim demolished the palace in place of an Audience Hall with a pentagonal shaped roof to cater his growing influence. Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim then later moved his office from Telok Blangah to Tanjung Puteri in Johor in 1866. Sometime later in 1871, the “Audience Hall” was converted into mosque, and the surrounding compound became a cemetery. During this time, the mosque as it was originally known was named Masjid Kampong Telok Blangah. The remnants of the palace could still be seen on the mosque’s grounds.In 1991, the original building was demolished. Following the pentagonal footprints of the former building, construction of the new mosque was completed in 1993 at a cost of RM 2.5 million. It was financed by the Sultan of Johor. To showcase its rich history, the mosque was named Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim.